Thursday, November 08, 2007

Latest listens through 11/8/07
Category: Music

 

I’m sure I’m missing a bunch but here’s some of the stuff I’ve been listening to.

Kid Rock: Rock and Roll Jesus  – No, really.  And it’s pretty damn good.
Devendra Banhart: Smokey Rolls….
Umphrey’s Mcgee: 10/27/07
Wilco: 10/13/07
Wilco: 10/17/07
Jimi Hendrix: Crash Landing
Pavement: Crooked Rain….
Wilco: Being There
Ricardo Villalobos: Fabric 36
Sightings: Through the Panama
Buckethead: Bucketheadland vol 2
Buckethead: Crime Slunk Scene
Aesop Rock: None Shall Pass
Phish: The White Tape
Radiohead: In Rainbows
Skinny Puppy: VivisectVI
Speedy J: Ginger
 

Monday, October 15, 2007

Latest Listens through 10/15 afternoon
Category: Music

 

Christopher Willits:  Surf Boundaries
 
The Feeling: Twelve Stops and Home
 
Minus Story: My Iron Truss
 
Misc 80s Mix
 
Masada: Live in Sevilla
 
Paul Simon: Anthology Disc 1
 
Pixies: Doolittle
 
Luciano: SciFiHiFi Vol 2
 
Tom Vek: We Have Sound – I’m still loving this album from 2005. 
 
Wilco: A.M.  Who’s going Wednesday night?
 
Manic Street Preachers: Holy Bible 10th Anniversary Edition –  Probably overlooked and under represented in the US but these guys are amazing and signify what I love about rock and roll.  What’s that signify? 
 
Grails: Burning Off Impurities
 
Maserati: Inventions for the New Season
 
Maximo Park: Our Earthly Pleasures
 
The Klaxons: Myths of the Near Future
 

Friday, October 05, 2007

Latest Listens through 10/5/07 (morning of..)
Category: Music

 

Miles Davis: The Complete Jack Johnson Sessions
 
Jori Hulkonnen: Helsinki Mix Sessions
 
Urge Overkill: Supersonic Storybook
 
WSP: Space Wrangler
 
Akufen: My Way
 
Grails: Burning Off Impurities
 
Blonde Redhead: 23
 
Ricardo Villalobos: Fabric 23
 
Horace Silver: Further Explorations
 
Beans: Tomorrow Right Now
 
Christopher Willits:  Surf Boundaries
 
Manic Street Preachers: Holy Bible [10 Year Anniversary Editon]
 
Metallica: Live in Gothenberg 2-13-87
 
Sonny Rollins:  Way Out West – Playing NEXT SATURDAY (10/12) one of only 3 North American shows this year.  HIGHLY recommended….too bad it’s my anniversary,
 
Sonny Rollins: Saxaphone Collosus
 
Sightings: Through the Panama
 
Horace Silver: Song for My Father
 
Horace Silver:  Further Explorations

 

  Currently listening :
Tomorrow Right Now
By Beans
Release date: 11 March, 2003

 

Thursday, September 27, 2007

Latest Listens through 9/26/07

 

Phish: Lawn Boy – It’s been just over 10 years since The Great Went.  My how the time flies.  Sitting in an abandoned airfield in upstate Maine in mid August dressed in late fall clothing.  Things are sure a lot different 10 years later. Sinead O’Connor: The Lion and the Cobra 

 
John Acquaviva: From Saturday to Sunday – coolest last name ever.
 
Galaxie 500: This Is Our Music
 
Galaxie 500: Today
 
John Scofield: Hand Jive
 
Peace Orchestra: Peace Orchestra – Can’t go wrong with Kruder or Dorfmeister, solo or together.
 
Black Grape: It’s Great When You’re Straight
 
My Bloody Valentine: Isn’t Anything
 
The Smiths: The Queen Is Dead

 

  Currently listening :
The Complete Jack Johnson Sessions
By Miles Davis
Release date: 23 August, 2005

 

Thursday, September 20, 2007

Latest Listens Through 9/20/07
Current mood: OK

 

Matt Dear: Asa Breed
 
Maserati: Inventions For the New Season- all instrumental and sharp.  If you’re down the Biscuits, STS9, Lake Trout, etc. this should be in your indie wheelhouse. I listened to this on repeat for an entire day this week.  A little treat.
 
Maximo Park: Our Earthly Pleasures – what a surprise.  Once again late to the party.  I really enjoyed this album.   Reminds me of a more pop infused Manic Street Preachers.  Less heavy perhaps.    Good stuff.
 
Taylor Dupree and Christopher Willits:  Mujo  – this is perfect for a stressful day to bring you back down. 
 
Dalek: Abandonded Language – I actually gave this a listen 2-3x in a row and need to spend a little more time disecting the lyrics. 
 
Omar Rodriguez Lopes: Se Dice Bisonte, No Bufalo   – Good stuff.  He’s building a very impressive musical legacy.
 
Grails: Burning Off Impurities – I’m really getting back into this heavy, stoner instrumental rock.  Anyone who wants to join me let me know and I’ll loan you copies for your listening pleasure.
 
The Smiths: Strangeways
 
REM: Eponymous
 
Phoenix: United – One of the most unrecognized and underappreciated albums since its release.  Some of these tunes have appeared in movies, commercials and tv over the years so we know someone in a production somewhere has been listening.
 
Autechre: Amber – A classic.
 
Lordi: Arockalypse – Bringing back the RAWWWWK one heavy tune at a time.
 
Mixmag: Pete Tong’s Future Classics (August 2004?)
 
Spritualized: Ladies and Gentleman….
 
I’m reading… and I love it!    See you over on Facebook!!
 

 

  Currently listening :
Ladies & Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
By Spiritualized
Release date: 01 July, 1997

 

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

Latest Listens Through 9/4/07
Category: Music

 

 
 
The Horrors: Strange House
 
Gravenhurst:  Fires in Distant Buildings
 
Mark Ronson: Version  – Not bad.  A cover of one of my favorite forgotten songs ever – The Only One I Know by the Charlatans U.K. (covered by Robbie Williams, who’s pretty damn sweet in his own right, even if he was a boy-bander), a Smiths cover of Stop Me…., hell even the ODB cover of Britney’s Toxic is cool.   I think it might wear thin after multiple listens but we’ll see.
 
Silverchair: Young Modern – I can’t listen to this before bed because the songs get caught in my head – “Walkin’ on a straight line…”  ERRRRR. 
 
The Cult: Electric  – Watching Singles the other day on HBO I heard She Sells Sanctuary (which also made me think back to how good this soundtrack is) and it made me think about how good this album was (yes, SSS was on Love).  The Cult were a very good band for the time.  Not sure Ian Asbury is the second coming of Jim Morrison but he’s still got a pretty damn good voice.
 
Luciano and Serafin – Funk Excursion EP (not sure EPs or individual tracks qualify but Luciano is one funky SOB.
 
Deerhof: Friend Opportunity
 
John Vanderslice: Emerald City – New to this cat.  Easy listening but it’s my first few times through.  Seems like he might have something to say, too bad I’m only partially listening.
 
The Klaxons: Myths of the Near Future – not bad.  My first listen through and I enjoyed it. 
 
Matt  Dear: Asa Breed
 
King Biscuit Time: Black Gold
 
Took another road trip to  Traverse City that witnessed the likes of Akufen, The Police, Phish and the Beastie Boys.

 

Currently listening :
Black Gold

By King Biscuit Time
Release date: 12 June, 2006

 

Friday, August 24, 2007

Latest Listens through 8/24/07
Current mood: sick
Category: Music

 

I’m a little behind and busy so I’ve put a lot of CDs in the player and just listened to them all day.  Without hearing much (I think I listened to the Cornerstone Astralwerks sampler for 3 days straight).

 
Justice: The Cross (smart, funky, fun.  just what a hot sweaty MI summer is all about…and a rainy, cool August – beautiful dance cuts, Where’d you steal that drop Willis!?!!?!?)
 
Gossip: Arkansas Heat (hmmm, a punk band from Arkansas – it’s original by default but they’ve since moved to Seattle or somewhere in the PacNW)
 
Prince: Planet Earth (the little fella just keeps doin’ it, soulful and at times funky)
 
Grails: Burning Off Impurities (a heavy, indie gem)
 
Noel Gallagher: Live at Royal Albert Hall (3/27/07)
 
Blonde Redhead: 23  (While far from a new band, this is the sound of new wave for the modern era.  Well, at least to this guy in his mid 30s who remembers these guys from his college days…albeit vaguely.)
 
Silverchair: Young Modern (A wonderful pop-rock album.  Frogstomp.  1995.  They were 16 or something.  Remarkable how a young band continued to grow and evolve.  True talent.)
 
The Fucking Champs: VI
 
The Horrors: Strange House

 

 

Wednesday, August 08, 2007

Latest Listens through this afternoon 8/8/07
Current mood: okay
Category: Music

 

.Jaylib: Championsound

 

The Black Keys: Thickfreakness

 

Beans: Shock City Maverick

 

DIO: The Very Best Of (…are you kidding me, including songs from Rainbow…awesome)

 

The Black Keys: the big come up (So this duo rivals The White Stripes.  Better in my opinion but I think that’s because it’s closer to my wheelhouse. And they’re midwestern boys, hell yeah and hell yeah for self-exclamations.)

 

Battles: Mirrored

 

moe.: Warts and All vol. 5  (great Spine>Mexico>Plane>Spine>Yodel>Spine)

 

Bob Dylan: Blood on the Tracks (Genius.)

 

Smiths: Louder than Bombs

 

The Beta Band: Best Of

 

Prince: Planet Earth

 

If you’re not on the bandwagon, jump on cause it’s a crazy ass ride….

 

 

Currently listening :
Planet Earth
By Prince
Release date: 24 July, 2007

 

Monday, July 30, 2007

Latest Listens through 7/30/07
Current mood: Pissed.
Category: Pissed. Music

 

Drive-By Truckers: A Blessing and A Curse

 

 

 

 

Ryan Adams: Easy Tiger (what a gem)
 

 

REM: Eponymous (A $4 bargain bin baby.  This was a casette upgrade. But than I stumbled on….)
 

 

 

REM: In The Attic (this is great!  Live tracks, b-sides, alternate recordings!  A great example of why I love bargain bins.)

 

Kiss: Rock and Roll Over  (Thanks to Klosterman I actually went out and purchased my first Kiss album in probably 15 years…Lick It Up anyone?)

 

The Coral: The Coral  (Not bad.  A friend of mind burned this for me when it was first released but I couldn’t pass up the $4 bargain bin to have all the album art in my collection.  I’ll listen to this a few times this week.  I think it was the song ‘Dreamin With You’ sounds like an Oingo Boingo tune I can’t quite place…or maybe it’s the Beach Boys’ ‘In My Room.’)

 

Beans: Shock City Maverick (this album is friggin’ great.  I have ‘Only’ but I think I like this one might be better.  Hadn’t heard it but knew I was down with Beans (for blasting and being part of Anti Pop Consortium).  Besides….it’s a WARP release which means there is no going wrong. Oh and the sub in my office drives the old bat outside nuts.)

 

 

 

 

Grateful Dead: In The Dark (The magnum opus….not really.  There are some very good tunes on here.  Throwing Stones.  Great tune…and a Weir tune nonetheless.  Many of these turned into stellar live standouts.  Of course that’s the  Dead’s forte.  I’m a moron.)

 

 

 

 

Ryan Adams: Love Is Hell (Pts. 1 + 2)

 

 

 

 

moe.: Warts and All vol. 5

 

 

 

 

Currently reading….

 

 

 

 

  Currently listening :
The Very Beast of Dio
By Dio
Release date: 03 October, 2000

 

Monday, July 23, 2007

Latest Listens through 7/23/07
Current mood: Fine.
Category: Fine. Music

 

Wilco: Sky Blue Sky (I can’t say enough good things about this album.  Maybe it’s the season and how well it all just seems to fit but this is a beauty.  If I was relaxing with my wife and having a few drinks on a boat, I would want to crank this one. 
I am getting so old it’s pathetic.  In 10 years take the same situation and I’ll probably be playing the latest Annie Lennox album.  That wasn’t meant to be a swipe at Annie just that she’s a bit out of my genre and in 10 years would be even further out.   Walking on broken glass…..I actually wrote this and than had dinner with my stepbrother Josh and his description of this album was right in line with what I said above unfortunately he’s not a fan of the album but for anyone interested he produces some damn fine music and I highly encourage you to check it out – http://www.myspace.com/joshight )

 

 

QOTSA: (Trying to listen to this one in the car and it’s just not grabbing me.  It’s only the first time through so I’ll keep it going)

 

 

Battles: Mirrored (WARP Records does it again.  One of the best labels on the planet.)
 

 

 

 

Spoon: Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (yeah maybe one more.  Not a bad effort at all.  If you liked them before and aren’t scared of the “they’re trendy now” fad than you’ll appreciate this album.  Otherwise move along.  Grab that issue of Skyscraper and pick up some indie gems (just keep the good bands to yourself).

 

Pharoahe Monch: Desire

 

Ryan Adams: Easy Tiger (brilliant.)

 

Blackalicious:  The Craft

 

Pelican: The Fire In Our Throats….

 

Richie Hawtin: DEMF 2001 (listening to this in the car, I always wonder what people think who may hear different electronic music coming out of vehicles – this ain’t the stuff so many shit dogs are driving around blasting of what’s being played at Bleu on a Thursday night with their mandatory spiked hair, 3 ozs of cologne, striped shirt with fat collar and $300 jeans to gain entrance)

 

New Order: Substance (only disc 2, I started disc 1 and realized it wasn’t fitting my mood)

 

Fluke: Risotto

 

The Police: The Police (I don’t give a shit what anyone says these guys were great in concert.  Stew Copeland is one of the greatest drummers this planet has seen.  Andy Summers is not a bad guitarist.  Lest we forget he was the driving guitar of a seminal 3 piece in music history.  Sting went on to become the perfect accompaniment to a nice picnic between a couple in their early 40s drinking Chardonnay and munching on an assortment of cheese and chocolate…oh please spare me the pain.)

 

Krikor: 5/27/06 (thanks Paxahau)

 

9:54 AM 0 Comments0 KudosAdd CommentEdit Remove

 

Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Latest Listens including the strange July 4th “weekend” through 7/10/07
Category: Music

 

White Stripes: Icky Thump (critically acclaimed, what will the diehard fans think?  Or have all the diehard fans left?)

Ryan Adams: Easy Tiger  (Who was at the Gem Theater show?  I’ve had a few first hand reports, do you have one if so please share.)
Paul McCartney: Memory Almost Full  (Fuck Heather Mills – he did)
 
 
And than the road trip begins to Northern Michigan. Like a good husband I choose CDs I think my wife might like.  Ok in all fairness, I choose CDs I think she will hate the least because unless I change my taste completely I’d need to listen to Michael Buble, Howie Day and a bunch of other crap that I can tolerate and occassionally listen to as a good sport.   So it goes something like this.  At least this is pretty close to what I recall.
 
Wednesday we begin and I ease her in with 
Bright Eyes: Cassadaga (which by the end I think she ended up enjoying) and transition during a stop to
The Shins:Wincing The Night Away (selling her with the “oh yeah, The Shins, I think one of these songs was on Grey’s or something…”)
I slide into some lite acid jazz courtesy of
9Lazy9: ElectricLazyLand which leads beautifully into
The Beta Band: 3 EPs (I also manage a portion of Heroes to Zeroes at some point but I forget when)
shortly thereafter I transition into the “man I swear I had an 80s mix on here (referring to the old school 15G iPod that’s filled with a bunch of digital files I never converted so this is where they remain)” and to satisfy that 80s urge it’s…
Def Leppard: Hysteria followed by a portion of Pyromania to which I exclaim – ! Ah ha, here it is but only after listening to one of my wife’s current favorites –
JT: Futuresex/Love Sounds (which I do think is a near brilliant album)
JK’s minor 80s mix which Christen loves, we sing along to such gems as Loverboy, I Can Dream About You, What’s On Your Mind and other gems of the era to which I transition to
Black Crowes: Shake Your Money Maker, which lasts about three songs before I bring it into one of the finest road trip bands of all time
Widespread Panic: Everyday and it’s Lake Charlevoix we land!
The ride down to Traverse City isn’t nearly as eventful as I re-load the 80s mix for the remaining tracks and eventually find myself surfing the dial.
 
The ride home to Troy] finds more dial surfing and
The Samples: The Samples (my wife’s heard of them so this was as near a win as I would find) which leads to
Widespread Panic: Space Wrangler (I drop a few stories, including Coconuts which is Lisa Klein’s favorite WSP tune along with some other miscellaneous WSP facts) which takes us into
Wilco: Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
and that’s the weekend of music.
 
Q: Live From Glastonbury (great freebie, especially the Keane and Orbital tracks)
Jeff Mills: Exhibitionist
Nas: Illmatic
 
and I finished I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle (highly, highly recommend this last day and night of high school story.  Purchase the movie rights and if done right, this could go down as another Dazed and Confused…or another Go).
 
I also finished –
 
 
Buy it.  Read it. Know it.  Love it.  Especially if you love music, road trips and getting lost in your head about old relationships.

 

9:12 AM 0 Comments0 KudosAdd CommentEdit Remove

 

Friday, June 29, 2007

Latest Listens through this morning 6/29/07

 

Page McConnell: self titled
Metallica: Master of Puppets and Ride the Lightning
J Dilla: Ruff Draft
Richie Hawtin: DE9 Transitions
Grateful Dead: Blues For Allah
The National: Boxer
Primal Scream:XTRMNTR
Stacey Pullen:  Fabric 14
Roni Size Reprazent:  New Forms
Galaxie 500: On Fire
Doug Weiland’s iTrip Mix
Galaxie 500: This Is Our Music
Wilco: Sky Blue Sky (what a great summer treat)
TV on the Radio: Return to Cookie Mountain
White Stripes: Icky Thump (how does a duo have this much depth?)
Ryan Adams: Easy Tiger (I’ve been listening to this gem like mad.  What will my friends do now that he’s sober and writing good songs vs. being a drunken drugged out mess…Smitty?  CJones?)
Janes Addiction: Nothing’s Shocking
 
 
..and with even greater thought to the favorite songs of all-time lists, I neglected Jimi Hendrix’s rendition of Voodoo Chile,  Pointer Sisters’ Automatic  (yeah)….Mitch Ryder’s When You Were Mine (written by Prince)
 
currently reading:
 
I Love You, Beth Cooper
 

 

Currently listening :
Easy Tiger
By Ryan Adams
Release date: 26 June, 2007

 

 

 

Friday, June 01, 2007

Latest Listens through 6/1/07 (and Top 10 Favorite Songs of All Time????)
Category: Music

 

The Beta Band: Best of…..

Motley Crue: Shout at the Devil (Vince Neil in his prime, ’nuff said…not Enuff Z’Enuff)
Gomez: Bring it On (7 years ago I proclaimed this one of my top 10 favorite albums of the 90s, I’m revisiting it after losing interest after Abandoned Shopping…)
Matt Dear and Ryan Elliot: 10.26.06 Thank you Paxahau
Derrick Carter: 5.29.06 (stop with the MCing…)
Adam Beyer: 5.29.06
The Cynic: 5.29.06
Rhymefest: Blue Collar
Crackhaus: It’s A Crackhaus Thing (glitchy funk for the summer)
 
So I had to do a list of my top 10 favorite songs of all time (a work related requested) and although I had about 5 days to think about it, it was still tough but here’s what I came up with….
 
RIP CNR

 

Nightshift: Commodores
Waiting for a Girl Like You: Foreigner
How Soon is Now?: The Smiths
Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before: The Smiths
Help on the Way>Slipknot>Franklin’s Tower: Grateful Dead
Fell on Black Days: Soundgarden
Don’t Stop: Michael Jackson
Tiny Dancer: Elton John
The Gold It’s In The…: Pink Floyd
Over the Hills and Far Away: Led Zeppelin
 
I’ve got a heavy dose of nostalgia going on and two Smiths songs might be a reach.  After even more thought neither of these may even be in the mix and I might include William, It Was Really Nothing or Is It Really So Strange.  I should have asked the person what their definition of “song” was because I might include something like Bad Computa, or Orange some sort of remix or mashup (although that would probably be pushing it too far and I should probably not even consider it).  I might include Sublime’s  cover of Steppin’ Razor and what about Levon by Elton, I fuckin’ love that song and while I did include a healthy dose of 80s cheese rock, I neglected my beloved Def Leppard (Photograph? Rock of Ages? nevermind Rocket or almost the entire Hysteria album), Van Halen’s (not Haggar) I’ll Wait should almost definitely be in there and my revolving Phish favorites but staples have been Antelope and Guyute for years and than there’s the Bee Gees You Should be Dancin’ and I leave off any number of songs from one of my top 5 bands of all time Oingo Boingo.  I left off Metallica’s Four Horseman, For Whom the Bell Tolls, Master of Puppets oh so many to choose from.  Damn it, I also forgot The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald and Right Down the Line (Gerry Rafferty).   Fleetwood Mac’s Everywhere and Sentimental Lady.  Paul Johnsons’ Precious Lord (thanks KAH).  ERRRR.  This will grate on me.  The commitment of putting finger to keyboard to commit this to a forum I can later recall is probably wise because it’s a continually running debate in my head.

 

 

Friday, May 25, 2007

Latest Listens heading into the Memorial Day Weekend
Current mood: okay
Category: Music

 

The Beta Band: Best Of….. (still.. one my all-time favorite bands)
Wilco: Sky Blue Sky (these dudes are crazy, every album has its own personality which is beautiful – not a huge fan but they’ve grown on me over the years)
The Smiths: Strangeways Here We Come
NIN: Year Zero (an album where you can find clues damn near anywhere he plants them, shit’s crazy and perhaps brilliant check out  www.iamtryingtobelieve.com)

 

Radiohead: Hail to the Thief (after reading Klosterman’s interview (IV) with the band during its making/release I was intrigued – still great, this band will influence well beyound our lifetime)
Sinead O’Connor: The Lion and the Cobra (I still have my cassette of this.  One of my favorite albums of all time and the babe can sing)
Stone Roses: Second Coming (damn you Ian Brown and John Squire suck it up and get back together)
Propaganda: 1234 (nothing like starting the day off with a little synth pop from the early 90s)
Medeski, Martin and Wood: It’s a Jungle In Here (funkified before they got free jazzy and than got funky again)
Ride: Carnival of Light (..maybe Andy Bell should have kept this band going…)
 
 
RIP Rod Poole, visit this site to learn more about this senseless loss – http://www.biink.com/poole/index.htm 
 

Friday, May 18, 2007

Latest Listens through 5/18/07
Current mood: pissy…working…
Category: pissy…working… Music

 

    The Smiths: Louder Than Bombs (in my top 3 bands of all time)
Beth Orton: Comfort of Strangers (what a voice, she just gets better)
Black Sabbath: Paranoid (back than who’d have thought Ozzy would be filming a reality show with his family in giant ass estates in Beverly Hills and London)
Pink Floyd: UmmaGumma (Studio album – free jazz for the psychedelic-progressive rock set)
Stone Roses: Second Coming (screw you Roses, two albums and nothing, these guys are great – they’d be legendary if they would have sucked it up and stayed together)
Spacemen 3: Recurring (…little to describe of these underground super-talents….including geniuses Sonic Boom and Jason Pierce)
The Beta Band: Best Of….. (over the years have become one my all-time favorite bands)
Brian Jonestown Massacre: Strung Out In Heaven
Busdriver: Roadkillovercoat
Bushby: Elbow Static Mix March 2007
John Acquaviva: 3-28-07 (still layin’ it down)
Philip Ryan: The Acid Test Vol. 2 (I dig it.  There’s a part where the frequency actually hurts my ears ACIIIIIIIIIIID)
Third Man Music: Various tracks 

 

Friday, May 04, 2007

Latest Listens Through 5/4/07
Current mood: cool.
Category: cool. Music

 

John Scofield:  Hand Jive

Superfly Soundtrack

Verve: EP

Sinead O’Connor: The Lion and the Cobra

Supergrass:  Supergrass

Hardfloor: Best of (Come on DEMF!!!!)

White Stripes: White Blood Cells

The Bevis Frond: North Circular

Phoenix: United (still one of my favorites over the past 10 years)

Peace Orchestra: Peace Orchestra (DUBBBBBBB)

J Dilla: Ruff Draft

NIN: Year Zero

Arctic Monkey: Favourite….

Metallica: Master, Ride the Lightning

TV On the Radio: Return to Cookie Mountain

Timbaland: Shock Value

Mono: You Are There

Mobius Band: Loving Sounds of Static

Currently listening :
Hand Jive
By John Scofield
Release date: 09 August, 1994

Tuesday, March 27, 2007

Latest Listens
Current mood: okay
Category: Music

 

I’ve been busying spending time traveling and playing my PSP (Tiger Woods 07, Tony Hawk, Grand Theft Vice City Stories) but here’s a little list….

!!!: Myth Takes
The Black Angels: Passover
Mobius Band: Loving Sounds of Static
Robin Thicke: The Evolution of….
Antibalas: Security
Sleep: Dopesmoker
Jimi Hendrix: Crash Landing
EL-P: I’ll Sleep When Your Dead
LCD Soundsystem: Sound of Silver
RJD2: Third Hand
Trans Am: Redline
Adult. : Resuscitation
Yo La Tengo: I Am Not Afraid of You And I Will Kick Your Ass
Audioslave: Out of Exile
Booka Shade: Movements
 

Friday, January 26, 2007

Latest Listens: Through 1/26/07
Current mood: good
Category: Music

 

The Smiths: Hatful of Hallow

Smashing Pumpkins: Gish

M Ward: Post War

Nashville Pussy: Get Some

Midlake: The Trials of VanOccupanther

 John Phillips: John, The Wolf King of L.A.

The Smiths: Peel Sessions

The Black Crowes: The Lost Crowes

Girl Talk: Secret Diaries

Matmos: The Rose Has Teeth in the Mouth of the Beast

Jori Hulkonen: Helsinki Mix Sessions

Bob Seger: Beautiful Loser

Youth Group: Skelleton Jar

Whitest Boy Alive: Dreams

Built to Spill: You in Reverse

Jaylib: Champion Sound

Pearl Jam: Live in Winnipeg Sept 2005

 

Friday, January 12, 2007

Latest Listens through 1/12/07
Current mood: good
Category: Music

 

The Black Angels: Passover

Clinic: Visitations

Larry Heard: Loosefingers

Wilco: Live  Chicago September 2003

Claude Von Stroke: Beware of the Bird

Metallica: Master of Puppets

Morphine: Live In Detroit Bootleg

Manic Street Preachers: Gold Against the Soul (The Manics friggin’ rock!)

Girl Talk: Night Ripper

Yo La Tengo: I Am Not Afraid Of You and I Will Kick Your Ass (the album title is so good I had to type it out)

Stevie Wonder: Fullfillingness’ First Finale (thanks Joe Cunningham, wherever you are)

John Legend: Once Again

Metallica: Ride the Lightning

Danielson: Ships

Pelican: The Fire In…..  (It’s too bad I listen to it at work because it deserves to be played very loud.  I friggin’ love this album, if anyone reading this has heard this album drop me a line or leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Cat Power: The Greatest

The Whitest Boy Alive:  Dreams

 Hot Chip: The Warning

Booka Shade: Movements

JayLib – Champion Sound

Electric Soft Parade: The American Adventure

Busdriver: Roadkillovercoat

LCD Soundsytem: Sound of Silver

Jet: Shine On

Oasis: Early Demos ’93

Pearl Jam: Pearl Jam

Prefuse 73: Reads the Books EP (only a matter of time before he’s producing chart hits..actually, he probably chooses not to)

The Slip: Eisenhower (for a jam band, this has a lot of great melody)

Liars: Drum’s Not Dead

Grateful Dead: Dozin’ at the Knick

 

…..and I’ve been watching this all week.  Friggin’ stellar.  The lines these guys/gals ski are disgusting. 

Push DVD Box Set

 

 

Currently listening :
Drum’s Not Dead (CD + DVD)
By Liars
Release date: 21 March, 2006

 

Tuesday, January 02, 2007

Latest Listens through 1/2/07
Category: Music

 

Clinic: Visitations (these guy rip, masks or not)
Clark: Body Riddle (another gem from WARP)
Bark Psychosis: Game Over (brilliant stuff..1997, I love finding “old” gems)
Oasis: Don’t Believe The Truth
Tommy Guerrero: From the Soil to the Soul
Dirt Crew: First Chapter
Headphones: Headphones (brilliant but once again late to the party – damn it)
J Dilla: The Shining
Mixmag: Pete Tong’s Future Hits (2003)
MC 900 Foot Jesus: Welcome To My Dream (still brilliant after 15 years, too bad Griffin soured on the music industry and hasn’t produced anything since 1994)
The Smiths: Peel Sessions
Donald Glaude: 5/28/06 (you rule Paxahau!)
Mark Houle: 5/27/06 (…thanks again Paxahau)
John Martyn: Stormbringer
Pelican: The Fire In Our Throats…… (this album is outstanding  – stoner rock for the Kyuss crowd)
Dan Bell: 5/27/06 (..you guessed it, Paxahau – sick set)
Pixies: Doolittle
Bob Seger: Live Bullet
Bob Seger: Face the Promise
Mastodon: Blood Mountain
Girl Talk: Night Ripper (thanks Johnny Balls – this may make the top 10 of 2006)
The Black Angels: Passover
 
This list should also include the Nick at Nite Christmas disc which was listened to approximately 20x in the past month.
 
COMING SOON: JK’s top albums of 2006
