Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Latest Listens through 6/17/08
Category: Music

 

U2 – The Joshua Tree 25th Anniversary
Simply Jeff – Live at Aqualab (6/06)
Into the Wild Sndtrk
The Smiths – Hatful of Hallow
MC 900 Foot Jesus – Welcome to My Dream
The Smiths – Queen Is Dead
Kenna – Make Sure They See My FaceU
Beastie Boys – Ill Communication
Duffy – Rockferry
Kenna – New Sacred Cow
Red Sparrowes – Of the Soundless Dawn
Tim Love Lee – Confessions of a Selector
The Sword – Gods of Earth
Ghostland Observatory – Paparazzi Lighting
Stephen Malkaus and the Jicks- Real Emotional Trash
The Gutter Twins – Santuranalia
Pelican – Australasia
Jesu – Conqueror
Frank Allison & The Odd Sox – Monkey Business
Dead – Blues for Allah
Kaki King – Dreaming of Revenge
Pop Will Eat Itself – Amalgamation
Jamie Lidell – Jim
Jim White – Transnormal Skiperoo
The Thrills – So Much for the City
The Thrills – Teenager
Recloose – So This Is the Dining Room
Nortec Collective – Bostich Fussible

 

Currently listening :
Rockferry
By Duffy
Release date: 2008-05-13

 

Tuesday, April 08, 2008

Latest Listens through 4/8/08

 

Phoenix: United
Wilco – Entire January 08 Chicago run
In the Wild Soundtrack
Girl Talk: Secret Diaries
Akron/Family: Love Is Simple
Frank Allison and the Odd Sox: Monkey Business
Les Savy Fav:  Let’s Stay Friends
The Autumn Defense
Baroness: Red Album
Torche: Tarnetal
Frank Allison: Russia
Sunn O))): Black One
Son Volt: The Search
Black Mountain: In The Future
The Audition: Champion
Ghostland Observatory: Robotique Mystique
Frank Allison and the Odd Sox: Workman’s Meal
Jesu: Conqueror
Jesu: Silver
Torche: Meanderthal
 
 
 
 
***iPod Gym Mix***
Blonde Redhead: 23
Phish: The White Tape
Dr. Motte Live: Tresor Closing Party
Oasis: Stop the Clocks
American Ganster sndtrk
The Hold Steady: Separation Sunday
Headphones: Headphones
Girl Talk: Unstoppable
Editors: The Back Room
Digitalism: Idealism
Clark: Body Riddle
Bark Psychosis: Game Over
 

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

Latest Listens through 3/5/08
Category: Music

 

Let’s see if Myspace is working today.  I’ve had unexpected errors that last two attempts to post blogs but here goes.
 
Grails: Burning Off Impurities
The Fucking Champs: IV
Band of Horses: Everything All the Time
Ricardo Villalobos: Fabric 36
Rilo Kiley: Under the Black Light   
Derek Webb: I See Things Upside Down
Burial: Burial
Lifesavas: Gutterfuly
The Thrills: Teenager
Kenna: New Sacred Cow
White Stripes: Icky Thump
Gangster Fun: Time Flies….
Stones Roses: Second Coming
Daft Punk: Alive 2007
The Smiths: Queen Is Dead
Lots of elevator music waiting for conference calls to begin…ERRRRRRRRR
Beastie Boys: Ill Communication
Michael Jackson: Off the Wall
Ozomatli: Street Signs
Spoon: Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
Silver Chair: Young Modern
Derrick May High Tech Soul Mix
Feist: The Reminder
Beach Boys: Pet Sounds
Kruder and Dorfmeister: G-Stoned
Steve Lawler: Homelands Mix (Ministry Magazine)
Prince: The Ultimate
Rilo Kiley: Under the Blacklight – If I’d heard this in 2007, it probably would have bumped Silverchair off my Top 10 list
Say Anything: In Defense of the Genre
Kula Shaker: Kula Shaker
Grateful Dead: In the Dark
Wilco: 2/22/08 – in HIGH SCHOOL AUDITORIUM!!!! (thank you etree!!!)
Wilco: 2/15/08 – first night of the Chicago run (thank you etree!!!)
There Will Be Blood Soundtrack
ONCE Soundtrack
Muzik Groove Armada The Dirty Sessions
MC 900 Foot Jesus: Welcome to My Dream
Smiths: Strangeways Here We Come
Jens Lekman: Night Falls….
Prince: Sign O’ The Times Rehearsals
Arctic Monkeys: Favourite Worst Nightmare
Into the Wild Soundtrack
My Bloody Valentine: Isn’t Anything
The Coral: self-titled
Wilco: 2/16/08 (etree – thanks!)
Phish: 12/3/89 (etree – thanks!)
Ace Frehley: 2/___/08 (Atlanta – thanks Trader’s Den)
The Heliocentrics: Out There
 
 
 
***iPod Gym Mix****
The Fucking Champs: IV
Villalobos: Fabric 36
Elton John: Madman Across the Water
Beans: Tomorrow Right Now
Black Milk: Sound of the City
Pixies: Doolittle
Tom Vek: We Have Sound
Radiohead: In Rainbows
Oingo Boingo: Nothing To Fear
Pelican: City of Echoes
El-P: Surrounded By Silence
Sleep: Dopesmoker
Bark Psychosis: Game On
Dr. Motte Live at the Tresor Closing Party (2004?)

 

 

Wednesday, January 09, 2008

Top 10 Albums of 2007
Category: Music

 

I was inspired after seeing a distribution to my boss (Riley, who’s included here) so I’m stealing the idea in hopes of getting others to share their top 10 lists.  I hope I don’t piss anyone off but in order to make it an open forum I included everyone in the “to” field.  ****Please refrain from REPLY TO ALL comments unless you’re sharing your list.****  I encourage you all to add people to this list or even create your own – but do me the favor of passing the lists on to me.  I love getting recommendations (qualified or not) and I’m pretty sure most of you do too.
 
Here are my top picks for 2007.
 
Band of Horses: Cease to Begin – What an album.  This was a gem that was lovely from its first listen.  I’m clearly not alone as over the past few months I’ve hard the single “Is There a Ghost” on a commercial (SYNC/Ford), a movie trailer and two tv shows (Gossip Girl and Brother and Sisters).  It seems I heard it elsewhere but these are enough to standout.  It’s a fantastic album.  The comparisons to My Morning Jacket are fair but they ain’t no MMJ – it just so happens Ben Bridwell sometimes sounds like Jim James – well Robert Plant sounded like Terry Reid and they both produced great albums (one just happened to have a few more than the other).
 
Blonde Redhead: 23 – What a gem.  I love stumbling into bands who’ve been around for years who I’ve had very little exposure to.  This is one of them.    Kazu Makino has such a wonderfully haunting voice that the space it fills is hard to imagine another vocalist in her place.  “23” would also be included in my top 10 songs of the year.   And if I had to pick a song to rip down the mountain, it would be “Spring And By Summer Fall.”
 
The Thrills: Teenager – Why?  Because I can listen to this entire album all day for days on end and I don’t tire of it.  Sure certain distractions help and it’s a short album but damn is it catchy.  First track “The Midnight Choir” is in my top 10 songs of the year. 
 
Silverchair: Young Modern – Yep, that band.  If you’re between 25 – 35, you probably remember their first album when they were known as the teenagers from Australia who had a grunge-turned-pop hit in “Tomorrow” (1995’s album Frogstomp).  Well these dudes grew up – including Daniel Johns whose voice has blossomed into a thing of pop beauty.   He’s getting divorced from Natalie Imbruglia so I’m curious to see if the next album is a total downer. 
 
Wilco: Sky Blue Sky – Yeah yeah, they sold a bunch of the songs to VW but this album made Wilco for me.  The tone of the entire album came out at the exact moment of what I was looking for in an album.   Everything fit.  It was soft when it needed to be and aggressive when it needed to be.  The greatest thing about this album is that it made me appreciate the rest of their catalog in a way that I never had before.   My bet is, a lot of Wilco albums had a similar impact on people – this was the album for me.  As a friend and longtime Wilco fan said to me (and who’s copied here) “it’s dad rock.”    It sure is.   But it’s ROCK and as I told her, that’s the most important part of her comment.  Take note.
 
Grails: Burning Off Impurities –  I don’t know what to say other than this is why I buy Skyscraper, The Big Takeover, etc.  These guys jam.  It’s heavy.  It’s melodic.  It’s easy to listen to.  I love it.  Folk and Eastern influences throughout, it’s a hard album to pinpoint.    Very progressive and highly recommended.
 
Ryan Adams: Easy Tiger – It’s probably much like Wilco and all about the timing.  Yeah I have a bunch of his albums.  Yeah I listened to them all.  Did I fall in love?  No.  Did I see occasional brilliance.  I guess so.  Were some of my friends (some included on this list) too into the drunken-craziness of his onstage and offstage antics that blurred my perception?  He dated Parker Posey but he was playing shows and putting out music like he was a struggling musician.  I often left myself wondering what I was missing.  I get it now.  Sure this album can be heard in Gap and Urban Outfitters the world over but it’s great.
 
Justice: The Cross –  Magazine covers, major coverage, hell they were probably on TRL or something but these guys deserve it.  Crossover!  This albums should get people to listen to dance music (not that it’s “dance music”).  Everyone should be dancing to once of the catchiest singles of the year – D.A.N.C.E.  I love this album.  It’s fun, it shows an openness to a bunch of genres. 
 
Ricardo Villalobos: Fabric 36 –  All original material from the minimal man.  If you’re down with minimal you’ll be down with this but if you’re like my wife (who couldn’t take this for more than 30 seconds) than avoid it.  I’m sure it’s huge in Detroit, Berlin and throughout Japan. 
 
Kenna: Make Sure They See My Face –  Wonderful pop, rock and electronica influences.  Production from Chad Hugo [and other Neptunes] is solid.  
 
Just out of reach…
 
Burial: Untrue –   This might actually be in my Top 10 if I had more time to take it all in (late release).  Beautifully produced.  Catchy, addictive, head-nodding stuff.
 
The Fucking Champs: VI – Yeah stoner rawwwk!!!  Well, not necessarily but it has its moments.  Including some beautiful power cords that harkens back to the days of 80s hair metal.   There’s some great riffs on nearly every song.  It’s a strange, well conceived album that does a great job of holding my attention.   The kind of record where you suddenly lock in and think “wait a minute, what was that?”
 
Klaxons: Myths of the Near Future – The won a Mercury.  Not sure how much that means, I think David Gray won one too.  This is a silly album.  Indie rock, electronica, Detroit blues (whatever that is), ska kicks, I think it’s a gem. You may think it’s piss.
 
Pelican: City of Echoes: While I loved The Fire In Our Throats….this is a beauty in its own right.  I’m so in love with instrumental rock….
 
A few honorable mentions….
 
Bright Eyes: Cassadaga, J.Dilla/Jay Dee/James Yancey (RIP): Ruff Draft, Battles: Mirrored, Radiohead: In Rainbows (how in the hell can they ever exceed themselves…perhaps a hip-hop album?)
 
 

Monday, January 07, 2008

through 1/7/08

 

missing a ton but this is a good snapshot

 

Kid Rock: Rock and Roll Jesus
Devendra Banhart: Smokey Rolls….
Tuatara: Breaking the Ethers
REM: Murmur
REM: Monster
Tricky: Maxinquaye
The Thrills: Teenager
Kenna: Make Sure…
Kenna: New Sacred Cow
Cornerstone 074
Richard Ashcroft: Alone with Everybody
Band of Horses: Cease to Begin
Ram Dass: Spirtiual Perspectives and Practices
Beans: Shock City Maverick
Beatles: White Album
DIO: The Very Best Of
Oasis: SOTSOG
Beck: Midnight Vultures
Sinead O’Connor: The Lion and the Cobra
Beth Orton: Comfort of Strangers
Beach Boys: Pet Sounds
White Stripes: White Blood Cells
Silverchair: Young Modern
Oasis: Definitely Maybe
